Brookhaven Institute for Psychoanalysis and Christian Theology (BIPACT)



Scott Hickman, PsyD – President/Director

Marie Hoffman, PhD - SEPTT

Lowell Hoffman, PhD – SEPTT

Paula Hamm, MA – Chair, Admissions Committee

Angela Allen-Peck, PsyD – Chair, Curriculum Committee



Resident Faculty (F) and Instructors (I)


William Allured, PhD (F)

Linda Barnhurst, PsyD (I)

Roy Barsness, PhD (I)

Scott Hickman, PhD (F)

Mitchell Hicks, PhD, ABPP (I)

Shawn Hofer, PhD (I)

Earl Bland, PsyD (I)

Lowell Hoffman, PhD (F)

John Carter, PhD (I)

Marie Hoffman, PhD (F)

Stephen Fowler, MD (F)

Paula Hamm, MA (F)

Anita Sorenson, PhD [Spiritual Formation] (I)

Brad Strawn, PhD (I)

John Hayes, PhD (F)

Nancy Thurston, PsyD, ABPP (F)

Theresa Clement Tisdale, PhD, PsyD (F)

Natalia Yangarber-Hicks, PhD (I)


(F) Certified Psychoanalyst

(I) Psychoanalytically Trained Clinician


Visiting Distinguished Faculty 2012-2017


Neil Altman, PhD

Robert Gordon, PhD, ABPP

Lewis Aron, PhD, ABPP

Stephen Knoblauch, PhD

Galit Atlas, PhD

Danielle Knafo, PhD

Jessica Benjamin, PhD

Brian Koehler, PhD

Judith Brisman, PhD

Zvi Lothane, MD

Sandra Buechler, PhD

Nancy McWilliams, Ph.D., ABPP

Marilyn Charles, PhD, ABPP

James Olthuis, PhD

Carolyn Clement, PhD

Donna Orange, PhD

Pamela Cooper-White, PhD

Therese Ragen, PhD

Lisa Director, PhD

Philip Ringstrom, PhD, PsyD

Michael Eigen, PhD

Jill Salberg, PhD

Richard Geist, EdD

Daniel Shaw, LCSW

Jill Gentile, PhD

Joyce Slochower, Ph.D.

Melanie Suchet, PhD

Frank Summers, PhD, ABPP


In keeping with accreditation standards, BIPACT faculty members teaching courses in the theory and practice of psychoanalysis and psychodynamic psychotherapy will be compromised primarily of psychoanalytic institute graduates. Senior analysts from the broader psychoanalytic community will serve as visiting lecturers.

Brookhaven Institute

PO Box 425, Fogelsville, PA  18051.